New measures for border enforcement (16) (new designated countries/regions in response to coronavirus variants of special concern on border measures and others)

6 July 2021

All cross-border travelers and returnees from countries/regions which are designated separately based on the measure in response to coronavirus variant of special concern on border measures are requested, for the time being, to stay during 10 days at facilities designated by the Chief of the Quarantine Station (limited only to those facilities secured by the Quarantine Station). In addition, those who obtain negative results of all COVID-19 tests conducted on the third, sixth and tenth days from the entry into Japan, may leave the facilities, but are still required to stay for the remaining period of 14 days after the entry into Japan at places such as their own residence.

(Note 1) With regard to designated countries/regions based on New measures for border enforcement (15) and (16), whenever the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare of Japan confirm, designation and removal of countries/regions subject to those measures, as well as modification of details is to be published.

(Note 2) The aforementioned measures are subject to persons who have stayed in the designated countries/regions within 14 days before the day of return to Japan or the day of application for landing on Japan.

(Note 3) The designated measures will be implemented three days after the designation from 0:00am (JST). In addition, the modification of the designation or the removal of designation based on the above will also be implemented three days after the publication from 0:00am (JST).

(End)